Skip to content ↓

"The quality of teaching is excellent overall, supporting the school’s aim.  Lessons are well planned and meet the needs of pupils of different abilities, including those who require support for their learning, enabling them to acquire new knowledge, make progress, increase their understanding and develop their skills."

ISI Report 2011

Staff & governors

Academic Staff

Mr G.D. Franklin


Mr  D.C. Spencer

Deputy Head

Mr S.C. Parfitt

Head of Art

Mr S. Bithel-Vaughan English

Mrs T. Bonthron

EFL and Learning Support

Mr T.D.M. Burleigh


Mr T.G.L. Dix

Director of Music

Mrs C. E. Franklin Headmaster’s Wife

Mr S.V.M. Hallam

Head of MFL & Latin

Mrs A.C. Hatt

Form JH

Mr S.P. Kearns

Head of Middle School

Mr J.C. Latteur

Latin, French, R.S.

Mme. Y. Laurans MFL

Mr T.D.W. Longdon

Director of Sport, Head of RS, Head of PE

Mr J.J. Martin

Head of ICT

Mrs H.E. McDermott

Head of English

Mr M.W. Nichol

Senior Master, Housemaster of the Orchard, Head of Geography

Mr R.G. Page

Director of Studies, Head of History

Mrs K. Sabin-Dawson

Science, English

Mrs A.M. Williams

Head of Mathematics

Mr C. Waldie Physics, Chemistry

Miss H.L. Wallace

Head of Science

Mrs P.A. Wallace

Head of Learning Support

Administrative Staff

Mrs B.A. Parsons 

Bursar & clerk to the Governors

Mr A. Debling 

Bursar’s Assistant

Mrs G. Baird

Headmaster’s PA

Mrs L. Hawkins

School Secretary

Mrs I. Graham

Domestic and Catering Manager

Boarding Staff


Mrs R. Town 

School Nurse

Mrs C Matthews


Mrs C. Lord

School Nurse

Mrs C. Mitchell 


Mrs R. Nelson 


Mrs E. Nichol 

Housemaster’s Wife, The Orchard

Mrs H. Page 


Mrs S. Read 


Mrs L. Spencer 

Boys' Boarding Houseparent

Mrs F. Taheri 


Mrs T. Willshire 



Contact details for the school's Governing body and the Chairman of the Governors will be provided on request by the school office:

The Governing Body of Wellesley House and St. Peter's Court Educational Trust Ltd, is comprised of the following:

  • P J Woodhouse Esq (Chairman)
  • Mrs Camilla Burge
  • Mrs Charlotte Evans
  • Mrs Kate Fenwick
  • Mrs Ali Harber (Head of Sixth Form, Benenden School)
  • J Jackson Esq MA (Eton Housemaster)
  • G Mann Esq (Master of the Queen’s Scholars and a member of the Royal College of St Peter at Westminster school)
  • Mrs Louise Martine
  • B R K Moorhead Esq
  • D Royds Esq
  • J M W Sale Esq (Chairman F&GP)

Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Barbara Parsons